Pastoral Care/Student Wellbeing 

Pastoral Care

pastoral care

As part of our Catholic education, MacKillop College is committed to creating a total environment which is caring and supportive of the individual. Believing this to be of paramount importance, our primary focus is the welfare and holistic development of our students. Pastoral Care forms an integral part of bringing students and teachers together.

Leaders of Pastoral Care oversee each year group. Year 7 - 10 has nine Pastoral Care classes of approximately 25 students. Pastoral Care teachers meet with their Pastoral Class at the commencement of the school day. During Pastoral Class students pray, attendance is marked, they receive formal letters for home, and check in with their Pastoral Care teacher to ensure they are organised for the day.

It is hoped that students will develop a close relationship with the Pastoral Care teacher, and that students will have confidence to confide in this teacher and seek their guidance.

Pastoral Care groups are formed into one of four house groups: Flinders, Innes, Macquarie, Oxley.


MacKillop College has one full-time and one part-time counsellor. 

The role of the School Counsellor at MacKillop College is to support and promote the social and emotional wellbeing and growth of students.

Our counsellor is available to talk with students about emotional, relationship, family, behavioural and mental health issues.  The counsellor may refer to external agencies and other healthcare professionals and, where appropriate, work in partnership to ensure a holistic management of student wellbeing.

If you or your student should need assistance please direct your enquiries to our Assistant Principal of Pastoral Care Jennifer Campbell

Student Representative Council

Our Student Representative Council (SRC) is a student-based group designed to foster school spirit and leadership among students.

Members of the SRC are elected by their peers each year to maintain a fresh approach and a strong student voice within the school.

Our 2024 tenant is; #Bethechange

Our SRC adopt a servant leadership style and our members bring enthusiasm and energy to finding ways to strengthen a positive MacKillop community.

2024 Captains & Vice Captains
Jack O'Connell, Jiya Jamu, Maeve Kinchington & Archie Kay
2024 Year 11 & Junior SRC Members 

Our SRC Leadership team are outlined below:

College Captains 2024
Archie Kay Maeve Kinchington
Vice Captains
Jack O'Connell Jiya Jamu
Year 12 SRC 
Ross Aird Sally Temple
Tom Ryan Andrew Yates
SRC House Captains
Grace Davies Jesse Fisher
Tara Mitchell Tehya Nash
Year 11 SRC 
Cooper Lorger Milly McGrath
Sophie Folkes Will Abell
Year 10 SRC 
Abbie Brennan Dallas Lacey
Jessica Miles Spencer Lee
Year 10 SRC House Captains
Audrey Blake Flynn Burrage
Lane Jordan Willis Jensen
Year 9 SRC
Daniel Zhong Ebony Hassett
Jesse Taylor Ziva Balkin  
Year 8 SRC
 Grace Byrne Mark Temple
Manni McGrath Zoe Townsend